The Synod Standing Committee (SSC) acts on behalf of the Synod between ordinary meetings of the Synod. In exercising its powers and fulfilling its responsibilities, the SSC has regard to the following guiding principles:

  • focusing on the strategic and policy issues of the church
  • engaging in competence-building activities for its members
  • efficiency and timelines in approvals and decision-making.

SSC has identified a set of five draft priority directions for the next period of our life together:

  • Make and equip disciples
  • Grow the whole church
  • Connect with children, youth and families
  • Develop and deploy transformational leadership
  • Contribute to nurturing stronger communities.

Current membership of the Synod Standing Committee:
(as at March 2021)

  • Rev Andrew Gunton – Chairperson (Moderator)
  • Rev Heather den Houting (General Secretary)
  • Mr Nigel Alexander (UnitingCare Queensland Chairperson)
  • Mr Paul Newman (Wesley Mission Queensland Chairperson)
  • Rev Dennis Corowa (Congress nominee)
  • Dr Gewa Au
  • Mr Greg Braithwaite
  • Rev Garry Hardingham
  • Dr Marilyn Healy
  • Rev Fa Matangi
  • Mr Andrew McBryde
  • Mr Scott McDonald
  • Rev Bruce Moore